You Really Are What You Eat

I did it. Let me do that again. I DID IT!!  For 30 days I have gone without, flour, dairy, and sugar. I should really be including alcohol, but that would be a lie. Having said that, the 4 very small glasses of wine I consumed in January are a far cry from the wine induced holiday coma of December. Are you thinking, “How did you survive?”. Well, it was a lot easier than I expected. Having a wide range of produce options made the process a Whole30 lot easier!

Eat These Healthy Options

I promise you will not starve!

Mornings are better with egg cups, loaded with peppers, onions, spinach and some sort of breakfast meat. Too cold for salad, my lunch quickly became sausage and peppers, sweet potatoes cooked in coconut oil and sprinkled with cinnamon, and whatever left-over protein from the dinner before. Snack time had me back at the stove making plantain chips (use the green kind), and whipping up some homemade guacamole. I’m getting rave reviews about my guac – avocado, tomato, red onion, lime, cilantro and salt. Seriously easy and makes a healthy dish to bring to a party. For dinner think steak, chicken, fish and lots of veggies – grilled asparagus, roasted cauliflower, steamed green beans. Experiment and be sure to ask the produce vendors at your farmers market for their favorite recipes.

So was it worth it? YES. Am I svelte? NOT YET. But I noticed within the first week that my energy was through the roof. Good thing too because I have been busy, busy, busy developing the new Farmers Market Finds web site (stay tuned for details). By week 2, I was less bloated, and was starting to see a huge difference in my joints. A former runner, my hips and knees have taken a beating. Although I’m not 100%, I am definitely not wincing when I walk up the stairs or get off the elliptical. It was a significant improvement. Additionally, I suffer from workaholicism. You know where you work all the time, even in your sleep, waking for a pen to write down some great idea you literally just dreamt about. With my body in full detox, my sleep has become more restful and rejuvenating. I sleep deeper and wake feeling more human.

Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

Life is full of choices!

Honestly, I keep going. Although I lost half the weight I wanted to this first month, the physical benefits are so noticeable that I have no desire to return to my old habits. Well at least most of my old habits. I’m dying to get the Farmers Market for some real goat cheese and another stockpile of fruits and vegetables.  The take away…

You Are What You Eat

You Are What You Eat


SO EAT WELL!

4 responses to “You Really Are What You Eat

Let us know what you think

